• Home
  • 2020 FMS Student Showcase

Welcome Jayhawks!


This year, the Department of Film and Media Studies is unable to hold its annual Tensie Awards and Student Recognition ceremony due to COVID-19. The main reason for this is the safety of our students, faculty, and staff. Although we are unable to meet in person this year, this website is just one way to show our deep appreciation and pride for our excellent FMS students who have contributed so much to our program and have enriched film and media studies at KU!

We checked in with you, our students, and listened to your hopes and concerns during this difficult time. As a result, we opted to create the FMS Student Showcase– not a as a replacement for the Tensies – but rather as one way to: celebrate all of the wonderful work that was completed, recognize the awesome students who won scholarships and awards, and acknowledge our graduating students in whom we are so proud! To try and make this as close to our annual routine as possible, we opted to make the entire site go live about the same time that we would have held the in-person ceremony.

The categories below are the same as those used for the Tensies. Each page has information on the individual projects submitted to that category that were completed over the past year and a link so you can watch them. But this year we are not judging any ‘winners’ because many of you were unable to finish projects due to the shutdown. In case you’re wondering, we expect the Tensie Awards to be back next year. Graduating seniors who wish to submit this year’s project for competition in that ceremony will be able to.

This website took a lot of work at a difficult time when we didn’t have many resources, time, or extra hands. Without the hard work of the following people It wouldn’t have been possible. Join me in giving a huge round of virtual applause and thanks to Lindsay Ly who created and uploaded the entire site on her own (!) and to John McCluskey who created and coordinated the submission process and uploaded the projects and last but never least, Karla Conrad who carefully and painstakingly edited and researched all of the content for this virtual event.

Finally, I want to thank you, our students, faculty, and staff for all your flexibility, resiliency and strength. Without your cooperation and perseverance, we wouldn’t have gotten through this semester like we did.


Congratulations to you and Rock Chalk Jayhawk!!!

Michael Baskett, Chair, Department of Film and Media Studies





Click to see the FMS Scholarships and Awards Recipients

Click for a list of Graduating Students

Click for a list of the 2019-2020 FMS Student Staff, Committee, and Club Board Members











Interactive Media

Music Video



Visual Effects





A Special Thank You to Instructor Jeff Calvert and his FMS 303 Intermediate Animation Class

for their creativity and hard work in making this year's bumpers! Great work all!

Noah Ball

Katelyn Branstetter

Matthew Fossell

Clara Knipp

Joey Moreno

Kyle Nelsen

Dylan Reising

Hudson Snider


And we'd like to thank Abdoul Aziz Diallo in IT for recoding the webpages for the bumpers!